Animal Definitions: An Educator’s Guide

animal definition
animal definition

Animal Definitions: An Educator’s Guide

In the animal definition, there are some very specific ways to classify living creatures. There are invertebrate animals and vertebrate animals, mammals, and fish. There are even animals with three body parts and those with four. Many of these classifications are based on what type of skeleton an animal has. The different types of skeletons offer a lot more variety in terms of how each animal lives and survives in its ecosystem. Read on for a brief explanation of some common types of skeletons and learn about the unique lifestyles that come along with them!

What is a skeleton?

A skeleton is an internal framework that helps keep an animal’s body upright. The skeleton also helps protect organs, such as the heart and lungs, and reinforces muscles so they can contract more effectively and efficiently for movement.

Animal Classification

Before you can understand the different types of skeletons and what they represent, it’s important to know about some of the basic ways animals might be classified. For example, an invertebrate animal is any creature that doesn’t have a backbone or spine. These animals are typically soft-bodied and come in all shapes and sizes. In contrast, a vertebrate animal is any animal that has a spinal column that runs down its back. This includes mammals like humans and fish like tuna.

Read More: Your Guide to Supporting Animal Welfare: What You Need to Know

The vertebrate skeleton

The vertebrate skeleton is the most common type of skeleton, with an animal’s spinal cord encased in a tough material called cartilage. This type of skeleton has many benefits, including being able to move in any direction and having an upright posture.

The 10 Most Adorable Animals to Watch on Animal Planet

There are many different types of vertebrate animals, including mammals, fish, birds, and reptiles. These animals have distinctive features that are all due to their vertebrate skeletons. For example, mammals have a four-chambered heart with lungs on the left side of their bodies that allow them to breathe air rather than water since they lack gills for breathing underwater.

Reptiles also have vertebrates because they are land-dwelling creatures. In contrast to mammals, reptiles do not have lungs and instead breathe from skin cells that get oxygen from their environments. Reptiles also cannot regulate their internal temperature, as well as mammals, can due to them having no sweat glands or hair on their bodies for insulation.

Birds also have a vertebrate skeleton but some unique characteristics as well, such as feathers for flight and a lighter bone density than other animals with this type of skeleton so that they can fly more easily in the air than on land.

The invertebrate skeleton

One of the most common types of skeletons is the invertebrate skeleton. This type of skeleton can be seen in insects, crustaceans, and mollusks. An invertebrate skeleton is made up of a hard outer layer called an exoskeleton. This type of skeleton is relatively lightweight and provides high defense at a low cost. The exoskeleton only covers the outside parts of an animal’s body and does not reach into its animal definition. One major downside to this type is that the animals are unable to grow much once they’ve reached adulthood because their exoskeleton cannot expand with their bodies.

What Is Your Favourite Animal Crossing Game video game?


1. The invertebrate body plan is made of a non-jointed exoskeleton, which is made of chitin and other materials.

2. It is a body plan that has a hard ‘shell’ that covers the animal definition, and needs to be shed periodically.

3. The invertebrate skeleton is classified as being a part of the endoskeleton. It can be found in crustaceans and some insects, but not in other invertebrates.

4. The vertebrate is a type of animal with an internal skeleton made of bone or cartilage. The vertebrate skeleton is classified as the endoskeleton and can be found in all vertebrates including mammals, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and fish.